CrashDNA

Crash data.
Real-world context.

Explore CrashDNA
AUSTIN, Texas cityscape
Photo: Justin Wallace / Unsplash
Texas / City guides
PUBLIC DATA. LOCAL CONTEXT.

Austin Crash Guide.

Hays, Travis and Williamson counties

Reported crash counts, locations and trends in Austin.

Records through 2026-09-30 Source: TxDOT public records Prepared 2026-10-12

Choose a period, then select Update guide.

Guide figures: Oct 1, 2025 to Sep 30, 2026. Based on records available through Sep 30, 2026. The map uses a separate calendar year.

Reported crashes11,375 9.9% fewerCompared with Oct 1, 2024 to Sep 30, 2025
Fatal crashes79 19.4% fewerCompared with Oct 1, 2024 to Sep 30, 2025
People killed80 23.1% fewerCompared with Oct 1, 2024 to Sep 30, 2025
People seriously injured307 7.3% fewerCompared with Oct 1, 2024 to Sep 30, 2025

Reported crashes fell 9.9%.

Compared with Oct 1, 2024 to Sep 30, 2025. Counts alone do not tell us how risky a trip is.

Explore the data →
KNOW THE PLACE

Getting around Austin

Austin’s downtown brings together live-music districts, restaurants and visitor destinations in a compact street network. A trip into the center can involve both a highway approach and the final few blocks on local streets; parking is part of that last leg, too. [2]

I-35, MoPac, US 183, SH 71 and Loop 360 are useful road names to recognize when planning a route. Austin’s transportation network is shared between the city and regional agencies, so a local street notice and a state-highway update may cover different parts of the same journey. [1]

Local orientation, separate from the crash analysis below. These road names are examples, not traffic-volume or safety rankings.

Local context sources · reviewed 2026-11-03
  1. City of Austin · transportation partners
  2. Visit Austin · downtown and getting around
  3. TxDOT · how to use DriveTexas for current conditions
THE LOCAL PICTURE

Austin’s crash picture

From Oct 1, 2025 through Sep 30, 2026, the available records include 11,375 reported crashes in Austin. That is 1,244 fewer than the 12,619 recorded for the corresponding dates a year earlier—a 9.9% decrease in reported crashes.

North Lamar Boulevard appears repeatedly in the reports, with 129 crashes listed under that road name. The 5 p.m. hour had the highest reported count among crashes with a recorded time, accounting for 743 of the 11,375 crashes in this guide.

Based on the public TxDOT records included in this guide. Counts describe reported crashes, not risk per trip or why a crash happened. Source, coverage and limitations →

WHERE IT HAPPENS

Explore Austin’s reported crash locations.

Named areas with the most matching crashes. Choose an area to zoom in.

  1. The ranked areas appear when the map loads.
View the area data ↓

Approximate areas, not verified intersections. The list follows the map filters.

This map uses a calendar year, not the guide’s reporting period. The figures above cover Oct 1, 2025 to Sep 30, 2026 (11,375 crashes). The count below follows the selected map year and filters.

Loading crash map…

Loading the 2026 map. Records are available through 2026-09-30.

Background map: OpenStreetMap. Map tiles load automatically; your browser sends the provider your IP address and the requested map area.

Map area data & how locations are grouped

Numbers on markers are crash counts. Areas use a 0.002° grid (roughly 180–220 metres across in Texas), not verified intersections. Names use the most common recorded street or intersection-pair label in each area across the loaded history; they are not verified neighborhood boundaries. Several areas may share a road name. Missing-coordinate records remain in the totals.

THE LONGER VIEW

The same month, year over year

Compare seasonal patterns across 2022–2026. Each line is one year. Hollow points and dashed segments mark partial months; gaps are not treated as zero. Historical context stays visible when you change the guide’s reporting period.

20222023202420252026
03256509751,300JanFebMarAprMayJunJulAugSepOctNovDecJan 2022: 1,146 reported crashesFeb 2022: 1,137 reported crashesMar 2022: 1,195 reported crashesApr 2022: 1,185 reported crashesMay 2022: 1,191 reported crashesJun 2022: 1,217 reported crashesJul 2022: 1,128 reported crashesAug 2022: 1,156 reported crashesSep 2022: 1,246 reported crashesOct 2022: 1,300 reported crashesNov 2022: 1,179 reported crashesDec 2022: 1,125 reported crashesJan 2023: 1,263 reported crashesFeb 2023: 1,067 reported crashesMar 2023: 1,260 reported crashesApr 2023: 1,079 reported crashesMay 2023: 1,139 reported crashesJun 2023: 988 reported crashesJul 2023: 1,125 reported crashesAug 2023: 1,129 reported crashesSep 2023: 1,097 reported crashesOct 2023: 1,238 reported crashesNov 2023: 1,116 reported crashesDec 2023: 1,075 reported crashesJan 2024: 952 reported crashesFeb 2024: 982 reported crashesMar 2024: 1,035 reported crashesApr 2024: 1,058 reported crashesMay 2024: 1,098 reported crashesJun 2024: 1,025 reported crashesJul 2024: 1,008 reported crashesAug 2024: 993 reported crashesSep 2024: 1,048 reported crashesOct 2024: 1,215 reported crashesNov 2024: 1,096 reported crashesDec 2024: 1,092 reported crashesJan 2025: 1,016 reported crashesFeb 2025: 973 reported crashesMar 2025: 1,110 reported crashesApr 2025: 1,049 reported crashesMay 2025: 1,133 reported crashesJun 2025: 927 reported crashesJul 2025: 979 reported crashesAug 2025: 1,018 reported crashesSep 2025: 1,011 reported crashesOct 2025: 1,258 reported crashesNov 2025: 1,077 reported crashesDec 2025: 1,031 reported crashesJan 2026: 796 reported crashesFeb 2026: 788 reported crashesMar 2026: 880 reported crashesApr 2026: 959 reported crashesMay 2026: 1,027 reported crashesJun 2026: 866 reported crashesJul 2026: 932 reported crashesAug 2026: 893 reported crashesSep 2026: 868 reported crashes
View year-over-year monthly data
Reported crashes in the same calendar month across years. * Partial month; — no loaded value.
Month20222023202420252026
Jan1,1461,2639521,016796
Feb1,1371,067982973788
Mar1,1951,2601,0351,110880
Apr1,1851,0791,0581,049959
May1,1911,1391,0981,1331,027
Jun1,2179881,025927866
Jul1,1281,1251,008979932
Aug1,1561,1299931,018893
Sep1,2461,0971,0481,011868
Oct1,3001,2381,2151,258—
Nov1,1791,1161,0961,077—
Dec1,1251,0751,0921,031—
Same-period year-to-date comparison

From January 1 through 2026-09-30, Austin recorded 8,009 crashes, compared with 9,216 over the matching dates a year earlier. That is 13.1% fewer reported crashes.

WHEN IT HAPPENS

Reported crashes peak at 5 PM.

Oct 1, 2025 to Sep 30, 2026 · Known hours only.

Time of day

037274312 AM: 320 reported crashes12 AM1 AM: 293 reported crashes2 AM: 350 reported crashes3 AM: 209 reported crashes3 AM4 AM: 163 reported crashes5 AM: 225 reported crashes6 AM: 377 reported crashes6 AM7 AM: 547 reported crashes8 AM: 597 reported crashes9 AM: 494 reported crashes9 AM10 AM: 447 reported crashes11 AM: 544 reported crashes12 PM: 635 reported crashes12 PM1 PM: 585 reported crashes2 PM: 579 reported crashes3 PM: 629 reported crashes3 PM4 PM: 712 reported crashes5 PM: 743 reported crashes6 PM: 644 reported crashes6 PM7 PM: 474 reported crashes8 PM: 460 reported crashes9 PM: 525 reported crashes9 PM10 PM: 438 reported crashes11 PM: 385 reported crashes
View the data table
Reported crashes by hour
GroupCrashesFatal crashesPeople killedPeople seriously injured
12 AM3201110
1 AM293555
2 AM350779
3 AM209448
4 AM163555
5 AM2254413
6 AM377228
7 AM547569
8 AM5970013
9 AM4945514
10 AM4472212
11 AM5440018
12 PM6352211
1 PM5851110
2 PM5794410
3 PM6290013
4 PM7121120
5 PM7434423
6 PM6443331
7 PM4743311
8 PM4607716
9 PM5257711
10 PM4384417
11 PM3853310

Day of the week

08991,797Sun: 1,439 reported crashesSun1,439Mon: 1,476 reported crashesMon1,476Tue: 1,623 reported crashesTue1,623Wed: 1,689 reported crashesWed1,689Thu: 1,681 reported crashesThu1,681Fri: 1,797 reported crashesFri1,797Sat: 1,670 reported crashesSat1,670
View the data table
Reported crashes by weekday
GroupCrashesFatal crashesPeople killedPeople seriously injured
Sun1,439191950
Mon1,4768839
Tue1,623101034
Wed1,689131444
Thu1,6818831
Fri1,7977750
Sat1,670141459

Month by month

06291,2582025-10: 1,258 reported crashes10/252025-11: 1,077 reported crashes2025-12: 1,031 reported crashes12/252026-01: 796 reported crashes2026-02: 788 reported crashes02/262026-03: 880 reported crashes2026-04: 959 reported crashes04/262026-05: 1,027 reported crashes2026-06: 866 reported crashes06/262026-07: 932 reported crashes2026-08: 893 reported crashes08/262026-09: 868 reported crashes
View the data table
Reported crashes by month
GroupCrashesFatal crashesPeople killedPeople seriously injured
2025-101,2587738
2025-111,0774438
2025-121,031111113
2026-017966618
2026-027888814
2026-038804430
2026-049598824
2026-051,0277728
2026-068667732
2026-079325520
2026-088937729
2026-098685623

Selected period; * partial month. Outlined bars mean missing coverage, not zero crashes.

WHO’S INVOLVED

Crashes by road-user involvement.

  • Truck / truck-tractor involved681
  • Commercial vehicle involved409
  • Pedestrian involved316
  • Bicycle involved305
  • Motorcycle involved303

Crash counts, not people. Categories overlap—a crash can appear in more than one group.

View involvement & severity details

People killed or injured are totals for the whole crash, not necessarily people in the named travel mode.

Crash involvement categories; do not sum these rows
GroupCrashesFatal crashesPeople killedPeople seriously injured
Truck / truck-tractor involved6815519
Commercial vehicle involved409446
Pedestrian involved316272756
Bicycle involved3055531
Motorcycle involved303151552
WHERE REPORTS CONCENTRATE

Roads with the most reports.

  1. North Lamar Boulevard129 crashes
  2. North Interstate 35 southbound123 crashes
  3. South Congress Avenue104 crashes
  4. North Interstate 35 northbound98 crashes
  5. West Parmer Lane92 crashes

Oct 1, 2025 to Sep 30, 2026. Counts, not the chance of a crash on a trip. Street-name variants may split the same corridor. Short road labels are expanded for readability; the tables and CSV preserve recorded labels.

View all road rankings
Top 20 reported road labels by crash count
GroupCrashesFatal crashesPeople killedPeople seriously injured
N LAMAR BLVD129227
N IH 35 SB123001
S CONGRESS AVE104228
N IH 35 NB98111
W PARMER LN92009
S 1ST ST91002
S IH 35 NB86001
BURNET RD80001
S IH 35 SB77110
E RIVERSIDE DR73003
MENCHACA RD71003
N MOPAC EXPY70002
RESEARCH BLVD SB69001
N IH 3568002
N IH 35 SVRD NB66001
GUADALUPE ST65003
E PARMER LN62002
AIRPORT BLVD61111
N N IH 35 SB HWY60001
S LAMAR BLVD60221
Reported intersection pairs

Only records flagged as intersections with both street names. These are reported labels—not verified geographic intersections.

Top 20 reported street pairs by crash count
GroupCrashesFatal crashesPeople killedPeople seriously injured
DESSAU RD & E PARMER LN10001
N FM 620 RD & W PARMER LN10000
E PARMER LN & E YAGER LN9000
NOT REPORTED & NOT REPORTED9000
GUADALUPE ST & W 15TH ST8000
N MOPAC EXPY SVRD NB & W BRAKER LN8000
E RIVERSIDE DR & NOT REPORTED6000
BURLESON RD & S US 183 HWY SB5001
BURNET RD & W BRAKER LN5000
DESSAU RD & E HOWARD LN5000
DESSAU RD RD & E E PARMER LN LN5001
E 7TH ST & SHADY LN5000
E SLAUGHTER LN & OLD LOCKHART RD5001
LAKELINE MALL DR & N US 183 HWY SVRD SB5002
LEON ST & W 24TH ST5000
MORROW ST & N LAMAR BLVD5000
N LAMAR BLVD & W 38TH ST5000
PARKFIELD DR & RUTLAND DR5002
AIRPORT BLVD & OAK SPRINGS DR4110
BURLESON RD & NOT REPORTED4111
SOURCE & ATTRIBUTION

Cite this guide.

Using these figures? Keep the reporting period and source with them.

CrashDNA. Austin Crash Guide. Austin — Hays County and Travis County and Williamson County, Texas. All reported crashes; selected reporting period 2025-10-01–2026-09-30. Analysis of available public Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT) crash records. Snapshot prepared 2026-10-12. https://crashdna.com/texas/austin/

You can also select and copy the citation text above. Figures describe available records, not traffic-adjusted risk or independently verified complete reporting.

Methods, definitions and limitations

Austin city · Hays County and Travis County and Williamson County. Reported city code 22; county codes 105, 227, 246. Current Census place identifier 4805000 (2026 reference). These identifiers reconcile the reported source labels, not independently geocoded historical boundaries.

Source: public Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT) crash records loaded for this publication. Guide focus: All reported crashes. All displayed totals, historical comparisons, maps, rankings and CSV rows use this cohort. Selected reporting period: exact recorded city label AUSTIN, Oct 1, 2025 to Sep 30, 2026. Each crash is counted once using its selected current record revision. This is not a metropolitan-area or police-agency-only filter.

Fatal crashes count events; deaths and serious injuries count people. Fatal and serious-injury crash groups use recorded severity codes 4 and 1. A crash can involve multiple vehicle or road-user types. Counts do not control for traffic or pedestrian activity, do not establish fault, and are not crash rates.

In the selected reporting period, 1,041 records lack usable Texas-range coordinates for Oct 1, 2025 to Sep 30, 2026 (the guide period, not the separate map year); 0 lack a usable hour; 365 lack a usable road label. 6,783 records are not assigned a usable intersection pair (including non-intersection crashes). Unknown categories remain in totals but not narrative rankings. Coordinates are not independently verified.

Latest 12 months means the latest available calendar month plus the preceding 11 months, clipped to loaded coverage; an unfinished final month is partial. Year to date means January 1 through the latest loaded date in that year, not through today. Historical charts and the map use the wider loaded history (Jan 1, 2022 to Sep 30, 2026); the monthly year-over-year chart shows up to five recent years. Map year, crash-type and outcome filters apply only to the map and its linked area table. Every matching record with coordinates contributes; there is no top-100 cap. Map locations are approximate grid centres, not exact crash sites. Area names use reported road labels, not verified neighborhoods. CSV contains aggregate tables, not individual crash records.

Loaded extraction intervals span the selected period. Source intervals do not guarantee complete reporting. New reports and amendments can change earlier months. Prepared 2026-10-12T01:10:13.301Z. Approved snapshots change only after an editor publishes an update.

Source extraction intervals
  • 2022-01-01 – 2022-03-01 · extracted 20260910100040
  • 2022-03-02 – 2022-04-26 · extracted 20260910100040
  • 2022-04-27 – 2022-06-22 · extracted 20260910100040
  • 2022-06-23 – 2022-08-22 · extracted 20260910100040
  • 2022-08-23 – 2022-10-16 · extracted 20260910100040
  • 2022-10-17 – 2022-12-08 · extracted 20260910100040
  • 2022-12-09 – 2022-12-31 · extracted 20260910100040
  • 2023-01-01 – 2023-02-27 · extracted 20260910100112
  • 2023-02-28 – 2023-04-24 · extracted 20260910100112
  • 2023-04-01 – 2023-04-24 · extracted 20260910100112
  • 2023-04-25 – 2023-06-19 · extracted 20260910100112
  • 2023-06-20 – 2023-08-17 · extracted 20260910100112
  • 2023-08-18 – 2023-10-12 · extracted 20260910100112
  • 2023-10-13 – 2023-12-05 · extracted 20260910100112
  • 2023-12-06 – 2023-12-31 · extracted 20260910100112
  • 2024-01-01 – 2024-02-29 · extracted 20260828124847
  • 2024-03-01 – 2024-04-26 · extracted 20260828124847
  • 2024-04-27 – 2024-06-22 · extracted 20260828124847
  • 2024-06-23 – 2024-08-22 · extracted 20260828124847
  • 2024-08-23 – 2024-10-16 · extracted 20260828124847
  • 2024-10-17 – 2024-12-09 · extracted 20260828124847
  • 2024-12-10 – 2024-12-31 · extracted 20260828124847
  • 2025-01-01 – 2025-03-05 · extracted 20260910100224
  • 2025-03-06 – 2025-05-01 · extracted 20260910100224
  • 2025-05-02 – 2025-06-29 · extracted 20260910100224
  • 2025-06-30 – 2025-08-29 · extracted 20260910100224
  • 2025-08-30 – 2025-10-23 · extracted 20260910100224
  • 2025-10-24 – 2025-12-16 · extracted 20260910100224
  • 2025-12-17 – 2025-12-31 · extracted 20260910100224
  • 2026-01-01 – 2026-03-03 · extracted 20260910100333
  • 2026-03-04 – 2026-04-30 · extracted 20260910100333
  • 2026-05-01 – 2026-06-27 · extracted 20260910100333
  • 2026-06-28 – 2026-08-29 · extracted 20260910100333
  • 2026-08-30 – 2026-08-31 · extracted 20260910100333
  • 2026-09-01 – 2026-09-30 · extracted 20261010194744

Download selected-period CSV · Download all-history CSV

CSV download
A table file you can open in a spreadsheet. Downloads contain grouped counts, not individual crash reports.
Crash count versus risk
A count tells you how many crashes were reported. Without knowing how much people drove, walked or cycled, it cannot tell you how likely a crash was on a trip.
Location identifiers and severity codes
These are source-system labels used to match places and classify recorded outcomes. They are not independent proof of a city boundary or the cause of a crash.
Back to top ↑

Public records. A clearer local picture.

Explore the patterns in another Texas community.

Explore another city →