CrashDNA

Crash data.
Real-world context.

Explore CrashDNA
Texas / City guides
PUBLIC DATA. LOCAL CONTEXT.

Coppell Crash Guide.

Dallas and Denton counties

Reported crash counts, locations and trends in Coppell.

Records through 2026-09-30 Source: TxDOT public records Prepared 2026-10-17

Choose a period, then select Update guide.

Guide figures: Oct 1, 2025 to Sep 30, 2026. Based on records available through Sep 30, 2026. The map uses a separate calendar year.

Reported crashes328 No changeCompared with Oct 1, 2024 to Sep 30, 2025
Fatal crashes2 2 more2 vs. 0
Compared with Oct 1, 2024 to Sep 30, 2025
People killed2 2 more2 vs. 0
Compared with Oct 1, 2024 to Sep 30, 2025
People seriously injured11 1 fewer11 vs. 12
Compared with Oct 1, 2024 to Sep 30, 2025

Reported crash counts held steady.

Compared with Oct 1, 2024 to Sep 30, 2025. Counts alone do not tell us how risky a trip is.

Explore the data →
KNOW THE PLACE

Getting around Coppell

Coppell is a city in Dallas and Denton counties, Texas. Include the place and county when looking up local road notices, especially where another Texas community shares the same name. [1]

Location context, separate from the crash analysis below. Local road descriptions are added only after source review.

Local context sources
  1. U.S. Census Bureau · Texas place/county reference (2026)
  2. TxDOT · how to use DriveTexas for current conditions
THE LOCAL PICTURE

Coppell’s crash picture

From Oct 1, 2025 through Sep 30, 2026, the available records include 328 reported crashes in Coppell. That matches the reported count for the corresponding dates a year earlier.

South Belt Line Road appears repeatedly in the reports, with 57 crashes listed under that road name.

Based on the public TxDOT records included in this guide. Counts describe reported crashes, not risk per trip or why a crash happened. Source, coverage and limitations →

WHERE IT HAPPENS

Explore Coppell’s reported crash locations.

Named areas with the most matching crashes. Choose an area to zoom in.

  1. The ranked areas appear when the map loads.
View the area data ↓

Approximate areas, not verified intersections. The list follows the map filters.

This map uses a calendar year, not the guide’s reporting period. The figures above cover Oct 1, 2025 to Sep 30, 2026 (328 crashes). The count below follows the selected map year and filters.

Loading crash map…

Loading the 2026 map. Records are available through 2026-09-30.

Background map: OpenStreetMap. Map tiles load automatically; your browser sends the provider your IP address and the requested map area.

Map area data & how locations are grouped

Numbers on markers are crash counts. Areas use a 0.002° grid (roughly 180–220 metres across in Texas), not verified intersections. Names use the most common recorded street or intersection-pair label in each area across the loaded history; they are not verified neighborhood boundaries. Several areas may share a road name. Missing-coordinate records remain in the totals.

THE LONGER VIEW

The same month, year over year

Compare seasonal patterns across 2022–2026. Each line is one year. Hollow points and dashed segments mark partial months; gaps are not treated as zero. Historical context stays visible when you change the guide’s reporting period.

20222023202420252026
012253749JanFebMarAprMayJunJulAugSepOctNovDecJan 2022: 26 reported crashesFeb 2022: 20 reported crashesMar 2022: 24 reported crashesApr 2022: 21 reported crashesMay 2022: 26 reported crashesJun 2022: 30 reported crashesJul 2022: 21 reported crashesAug 2022: 27 reported crashesSep 2022: 34 reported crashesOct 2022: 49 reported crashesNov 2022: 26 reported crashesDec 2022: 26 reported crashesJan 2023: 32 reported crashesFeb 2023: 21 reported crashesMar 2023: 34 reported crashesApr 2023: 26 reported crashesMay 2023: 28 reported crashesJun 2023: 25 reported crashesJul 2023: 36 reported crashesAug 2023: 34 reported crashesSep 2023: 31 reported crashesOct 2023: 26 reported crashesNov 2023: 33 reported crashesDec 2023: 21 reported crashesJan 2024: 32 reported crashesFeb 2024: 24 reported crashesMar 2024: 27 reported crashesApr 2024: 31 reported crashesMay 2024: 25 reported crashesJun 2024: 10 reported crashesJul 2024: 18 reported crashesAug 2024: 33 reported crashesSep 2024: 25 reported crashesOct 2024: 31 reported crashesNov 2024: 27 reported crashesDec 2024: 28 reported crashesJan 2025: 31 reported crashesFeb 2025: 26 reported crashesMar 2025: 34 reported crashesApr 2025: 22 reported crashesMay 2025: 27 reported crashesJun 2025: 22 reported crashesJul 2025: 32 reported crashesAug 2025: 26 reported crashesSep 2025: 22 reported crashesOct 2025: 35 reported crashesNov 2025: 34 reported crashesDec 2025: 23 reported crashesJan 2026: 31 reported crashesFeb 2026: 20 reported crashesMar 2026: 27 reported crashesApr 2026: 20 reported crashesMay 2026: 32 reported crashesJun 2026: 30 reported crashesJul 2026: 27 reported crashesAug 2026: 26 reported crashesSep 2026: 23 reported crashes
View year-over-year monthly data
Reported crashes in the same calendar month across years. * Partial month; — no loaded value.
Month20222023202420252026
Jan2632323131
Feb2021242620
Mar2434273427
Apr2126312220
May2628252732
Jun3025102230
Jul2136183227
Aug2734332626
Sep3431252223
Oct49263135—
Nov26332734—
Dec26212823—
Same-period year-to-date comparison

From January 1 through 2026-09-30, Coppell recorded 236 crashes, compared with 242 over the matching dates a year earlier. That is 2.5% fewer reported crashes.

WHEN IT HAPPENS

When crashes are reported.

Oct 1, 2025 to Sep 30, 2026 · Known hours only.

Time of day

0132512 AM: 6 reported crashes12 AM1 AM: 6 reported crashes2 AM: 4 reported crashes3 AM: 3 reported crashes3 AM4 AM: 2 reported crashes5 AM: 9 reported crashes6 AM: 9 reported crashes6 AM7 AM: 21 reported crashes8 AM: 24 reported crashes9 AM: 14 reported crashes9 AM10 AM: 19 reported crashes11 AM: 18 reported crashes12 PM: 18 reported crashes12 PM1 PM: 11 reported crashes2 PM: 19 reported crashes3 PM: 20 reported crashes3 PM4 PM: 25 reported crashes5 PM: 20 reported crashes6 PM: 25 reported crashes6 PM7 PM: 16 reported crashes8 PM: 13 reported crashes9 PM: 9 reported crashes9 PM10 PM: 8 reported crashes11 PM: 9 reported crashes
View the data table
Reported crashes by hour
GroupCrashesFatal crashesPeople killedPeople seriously injured
12 AM6000
1 AM6000
2 AM4001
3 AM3001
4 AM2001
5 AM9001
6 AM9000
7 AM21001
8 AM24001
9 AM14000
10 AM19110
11 AM18001
12 PM18000
1 PM11001
2 PM19001
3 PM20000
4 PM25001
5 PM20000
6 PM25000
7 PM16001
8 PM13110
9 PM9000
10 PM8000
11 PM9000

Day of the week

03162Sun: 29 reported crashesSun29Mon: 43 reported crashesMon43Tue: 62 reported crashesTue62Wed: 47 reported crashesWed47Thu: 60 reported crashesThu60Fri: 50 reported crashesFri50Sat: 37 reported crashesSat37
View the data table
Reported crashes by weekday
GroupCrashesFatal crashesPeople killedPeople seriously injured
Sun29001
Mon43001
Tue62111
Wed47112
Thu60003
Fri50001
Sat37002

Month by month

018352025-10: 35 reported crashes10/252025-11: 34 reported crashes2025-12: 23 reported crashes12/252026-01: 31 reported crashes2026-02: 20 reported crashes02/262026-03: 27 reported crashes2026-04: 20 reported crashes04/262026-05: 32 reported crashes2026-06: 30 reported crashes06/262026-07: 27 reported crashes2026-08: 26 reported crashes08/262026-09: 23 reported crashes
View the data table
Reported crashes by month
GroupCrashesFatal crashesPeople killedPeople seriously injured
2025-1035001
2025-1134001
2025-1223110
2026-0131000
2026-0220002
2026-0327110
2026-0420000
2026-0532003
2026-0630001
2026-0727000
2026-0826001
2026-0923002

Selected period; * partial month. Outlined bars mean missing coverage, not zero crashes.

WHO’S INVOLVED

Crashes by road-user involvement.

  • Truck / truck-tractor involved22
  • Commercial vehicle involved16
  • Bicycle involved6
  • Motorcycle involved6
  • Pedestrian involved5

Crash counts, not people. Categories overlap—a crash can appear in more than one group.

View involvement & severity details

People killed or injured are totals for the whole crash, not necessarily people in the named travel mode.

Crash involvement categories; do not sum these rows
GroupCrashesFatal crashesPeople killedPeople seriously injured
Truck / truck-tractor involved22001
Commercial vehicle involved16001
Bicycle involved6000
Motorcycle involved6112
Pedestrian involved5002
WHERE REPORTS CONCENTRATE

Roads with the most reports.

  1. South Belt Line Road57 crashes
  2. North Denton Tap Road22 crashes
  3. South Denton Tap Road21 crashes
  4. South Macarthur Boulevard17 crashes
  5. West Bethel Road15 crashes

Oct 1, 2025 to Sep 30, 2026. Counts, not the chance of a crash on a trip. Street-name variants may split the same corridor. Short road labels are expanded for readability; the tables and CSV preserve recorded labels.

View all road rankings
Top 20 reported road labels by crash count
GroupCrashesFatal crashesPeople killedPeople seriously injured
S BELT LINE RD57000
N DENTON TAP RD22110
S DENTON TAP RD21000
S MACARTHUR BLVD17000
W BETHEL RD15002
E SANDY LAKE RD14001
E BELT LINE RD11000
S FREEPORT PKWY10000
W SANDY LAKE RD10001
N MACARTHUR BLVD9000
SAM RAYBURN TOLLWAY9110
WRANGLER DR8001
E PARKWAY BLVD6000
S ROYAL LN5002
LYNDON B JOHNSON FWY4000
N FREEPORT PKWY4000
SH 1214000
FREEPORT PKWY3000
LODGE RD3000
N BELT LINE RD3000
Reported intersection pairs

Only records flagged as intersections with both street names. These are reported labels—not verified geographic intersections.

Top 20 reported street pairs by crash count
GroupCrashesFatal crashesPeople killedPeople seriously injured
LYNDON B JOHNSON FWY & S BELT LINE RD10000
CREEKVIEW DR & W BETHEL RD4001
E BELT LINE RD & FAIRWAY DR4000
HACKBERRY RD & S BELT LINE RD4000
BRAEWOOD DR & S DENTON TAP RD3000
E BELT LINE RD & S DENTON TAP RD3000
E SANDY LAKE RD & N DENTON TAP RD3000
S BELT LINE RD & SOUTHWESTERN BLVD3000
S BELT LINE RD & W NOT REPORTED HWY3000
S MACARTHUR BLVD & STARLEAF ST3000
S ROYAL LN & W BETHEL RD3000
DEFOREST RD & N MACARTHUR BLVD2000
DIVIDEND DR & S BELT LINE RD2000
E BELT LINE RD & S MACARTHUR BLVD2000
E IH 635 FWY & S BELT LINE RD2000
E NOT REPORTED & S BELT LINE RD2000
FITNESS CT & N DENTON TAP RD2000
N DENTON TAP RD & W SANDY LAKE RD2000
S BELT LINE RD & W LYNDON B JOHNSON FWY2000
S DENTON TAP RD & W BETHEL RD2000
SOURCE & ATTRIBUTION

Cite this guide.

Using these figures? Keep the reporting period and source with them.

CrashDNA. Coppell Crash Guide. Coppell — Dallas County and Denton County, Texas. All reported crashes; selected reporting period 2025-10-01–2026-09-30. Analysis of available public Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT) crash records. Snapshot prepared 2026-10-17. https://crashdna.com/texas/coppell/

You can also select and copy the citation text above. Figures describe available records, not traffic-adjusted risk or independently verified complete reporting.

Methods, definitions and limitations

Coppell city · Dallas County and Denton County. Reported city code 94; county codes 57, 61. Current Census place identifier 4816612 (2026 reference). These identifiers reconcile the reported source labels, not independently geocoded historical boundaries.

Source: public Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT) crash records loaded for this publication. Guide focus: All reported crashes. All displayed totals, historical comparisons, maps, rankings and CSV rows use this cohort. Selected reporting period: exact recorded city label COPPELL, Oct 1, 2025 to Sep 30, 2026. Each crash is counted once using its selected current record revision. This is not a metropolitan-area or police-agency-only filter.

Fatal crashes count events; deaths and serious injuries count people. Fatal and serious-injury crash groups use recorded severity codes 4 and 1. A crash can involve multiple vehicle or road-user types. Counts do not control for traffic or pedestrian activity, do not establish fault, and are not crash rates.

In the selected reporting period, 25 records lack usable Texas-range coordinates for Oct 1, 2025 to Sep 30, 2026 (the guide period, not the separate map year); 0 lack a usable hour; 2 lack a usable road label. 182 records are not assigned a usable intersection pair (including non-intersection crashes). Unknown categories remain in totals but not narrative rankings. Coordinates are not independently verified.

Latest 12 months means the latest available calendar month plus the preceding 11 months, clipped to loaded coverage; an unfinished final month is partial. Year to date means January 1 through the latest loaded date in that year, not through today. Historical charts and the map use the wider loaded history (Jan 1, 2022 to Sep 30, 2026); the monthly year-over-year chart shows up to five recent years. Map year, crash-type and outcome filters apply only to the map and its linked area table. Every matching record with coordinates contributes; there is no top-100 cap. Map locations are approximate grid centres, not exact crash sites. Area names use reported road labels, not verified neighborhoods. CSV contains aggregate tables, not individual crash records.

Loaded extraction intervals span the selected period. Source intervals do not guarantee complete reporting. New reports and amendments can change earlier months. Prepared 2026-10-17T22:08:39.272Z. Approved snapshots change only after an editor publishes an update.

Source extraction intervals
  • 2022-01-01 – 2022-03-01 · extracted 20260910100040
  • 2022-03-02 – 2022-04-26 · extracted 20260910100040
  • 2022-04-27 – 2022-06-22 · extracted 20260910100040
  • 2022-06-23 – 2022-08-22 · extracted 20260910100040
  • 2022-08-23 – 2022-10-16 · extracted 20260910100040
  • 2022-10-17 – 2022-12-08 · extracted 20260910100040
  • 2022-12-09 – 2022-12-31 · extracted 20260910100040
  • 2023-01-01 – 2023-02-27 · extracted 20260910100112
  • 2023-02-28 – 2023-04-24 · extracted 20260910100112
  • 2023-04-01 – 2023-04-24 · extracted 20260910100112
  • 2023-04-25 – 2023-06-19 · extracted 20260910100112
  • 2023-06-20 – 2023-08-17 · extracted 20260910100112
  • 2023-08-18 – 2023-10-12 · extracted 20260910100112
  • 2023-10-13 – 2023-12-05 · extracted 20260910100112
  • 2023-12-06 – 2023-12-31 · extracted 20260910100112
  • 2024-01-01 – 2024-02-29 · extracted 20260828124847
  • 2024-03-01 – 2024-04-26 · extracted 20260828124847
  • 2024-04-27 – 2024-06-22 · extracted 20260828124847
  • 2024-06-23 – 2024-08-22 · extracted 20260828124847
  • 2024-08-23 – 2024-10-16 · extracted 20260828124847
  • 2024-10-17 – 2024-12-09 · extracted 20260828124847
  • 2024-12-10 – 2024-12-31 · extracted 20260828124847
  • 2025-01-01 – 2025-03-05 · extracted 20260910100224
  • 2025-03-06 – 2025-05-01 · extracted 20260910100224
  • 2025-05-02 – 2025-06-29 · extracted 20260910100224
  • 2025-06-30 – 2025-08-29 · extracted 20260910100224
  • 2025-08-30 – 2025-10-23 · extracted 20260910100224
  • 2025-10-24 – 2025-12-16 · extracted 20260910100224
  • 2025-12-17 – 2025-12-31 · extracted 20260910100224
  • 2026-01-01 – 2026-03-03 · extracted 20260910100333
  • 2026-03-04 – 2026-04-30 · extracted 20260910100333
  • 2026-05-01 – 2026-06-27 · extracted 20260910100333
  • 2026-06-28 – 2026-08-29 · extracted 20260910100333
  • 2026-08-30 – 2026-08-31 · extracted 20260910100333
  • 2026-09-01 – 2026-09-30 · extracted 20261010194744

Download selected-period CSV · Download all-history CSV

CSV download
A table file you can open in a spreadsheet. Downloads contain grouped counts, not individual crash reports.
Crash count versus risk
A count tells you how many crashes were reported. Without knowing how much people drove, walked or cycled, it cannot tell you how likely a crash was on a trip.
Location identifiers and severity codes
These are source-system labels used to match places and classify recorded outcomes. They are not independent proof of a city boundary or the cause of a crash.
Back to top ↑

Public records. A clearer local picture.

Explore the patterns in another Texas community.

Explore another city →